Al Mansoori tops the Dubai Kitesurf Open

23 January 2023

Dubai Kitesurf Open organized by Dubai International Marine Club(DIMC) last weekend under the current sports season 2022-2023 featuring distinguished Emirati talents in these exciting sports.  

DIMC has been organizing the Kitesurf Competition for sixth season in a row now, under the supervision of the Emirates Kiteboarding Association (EKA) and UAE Sailing and Rowing Federation (UAESARF) with the new category, Wing Foil being held for the first time in the competition. 

81 Male and Female kite surfer joined the competition representing countries all over the world such as from Lebanon, Palestine, Syria, Tunisia, Egypt, Bahrain, France, Russia, Italy , Portugal, Netherlands, Ukraine, Poland, Belgium , Germany, Bulgaria, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Argentina, Canada and South Africa in additional the UAE stars & champions.  

The competitors competed in 4 different class such as Local, Junior, Male and Female in Hydrofoil, Twin tip, Freestyle and Wing Foil for the first time.

Mohammad Obaid Al Mansoori tops the competition taking three titles after winning first place in Free Style against Gaith Al Gaith Al Marri (second) and Salem Rashid Al Suwaidi (third). Al Mansoori won as well the Twin Tip Category against Rashid Ahmed Al Falasi (second) and Gaith Al Gaith Al Marri (third).

Our champion, Abdulaziz Al Marzooqi succeeded in winning the title for Hydrofoil Competition ahead of our two local stars Gaith Al Gaith Al Marri (second) and Mohammad Obaid Al Mansoori (third).

The rising champion for the Junior Abdullah Al Muhairbi , won the first place in freestyle against  Fryderyk Szczesny (second) and Loic de Raymond (third).

The competition as well witness the brilliance of the Sri Lankan Competitors with Ansihka Dinel winning the first place in Freestyle & Twin Tip while in Hydrofoil Men taking the first place is Jose Borges from Portugal. On the women's category Sara Jane Douglas took the first place in Freestyle & Hydrofoil while Marta Molo for Twin Tip race. 

The awarding ceremony took place right after the race with the presence of Khalid Bin Dasmal  - DIMC Board Member with him is Mohammed Harib - CEO of DIMC , Lt. Col. Ali Abdullah Al Naqbi - Head of Maritime and Rescue Department at Dubai Police , Mohammad Al Marri - Director of Sports Affair at DIMC, Mohammad Abdullah Al Obaidli - Secretary General of the UAESARF, Ali Al Shaiba Al Nuaimi , Director of Waterways and Security Department at Nakheel to congratulates and awards the medal for the winners.  

Winners of Dubai Kitesurf Open - H1 

Free Style

  • Local : Mohammad Obaid Al Mansoori
  • Junior : Abdullah Al Muhairbi
  • Male : Anishka Dinel
  • Female : Sara Jane Douglas

 Twin Tip

  • Local : Mohammad Obaid Al Mansoori
  • Male : Anishka Dinel
  • Female : Marta Morlo


  • Local : Abdulaziz Al Marzooqi  
  • Male : Jose joaquim Borges 
  • Female : Sara Jane Douglas

Wing Foil 

  • Male : Pierre Courson
  • Female : Amanda Mariani