KHK(54) Champion of the 24th Al Maktoum Cup Traditional Rowing - 30ft

27 December 2020

KHK 54 the boat owned by Sheikh Khalid bin Hamad Al Khalifa, First Vice President of the Supreme Council for Youth and Sports, Chairman of the Bahrain Olympic Committee and led by skipper Ahmed Al Busait was crowned champion of the 24th edition of the Al Maktoum Cup Traditional Rowing Race – 30ft

The big race was organized by the Dubai International Marine Club yesterday afternoon - Saturday - in the Dubai Water Canal opposite of the Dubai Wildlife Sanctuary near Al Jaddaf which achieved a great success with the participation of 20 boats with up to 180 people on board, which participated in a stunning and unique race witnessed by the audience. The race is remarkable with the presence of the people from Kingdom of Bahrain and Sultanate of Oman.

The race was scheduled to take place last Friday afternoon in Jumeirah beaches but was postponed due to the bad weather conditions and the committee decided to move it the next day in the Dubai Water Canal wherein the participants competed in one round and hailed as a winner is the boat no. 54 KHK while the second place was taken by Oman 44 owned by the Ministry of Culture Youth and Sports led by Humaid Bin Salim bin Humaid Al Bahri and the third spot goes to boat no. 65 Al Zahab 2 owned by Ahmed Ebrahim Al Shamsi and led by skipper Jumaa Yousif Al Jenaibi.

The 24th edition of the most expensive traditional rowing -30ft race hailed its new champion from the Kingdom of Bahrain that made its history by winning the title for the first time since its establishment at 1998 that attracts participation among GCC countries.

The Bahraini boat KHK 54, took the lead early after the race launched in the starting line maintaining its strong performance and good preparation for the race that lead them first to the finish line against its closest rival the Oman 44 and the Al Zahab 2 (65) as they crossed a race distance of 2.5 KM. 

The rest of the winners are the Bahraini Boat, Victorious 53 owned by Sheikh Nasser bin Hamad Al Khalifa and led by Abdullah Al-Hadi in the fourth place, and fifth place went to the crew of the boat Dubai/1 51 owned by Ahmed Mohd. Ebrahim Al-Mar'ei and the sixth place goes to the boat Al Zahab 66 Ahmed Ebrahim Al Shamsi and led by Ibrahim Sultan Al Marzouqi.

The boat no. 87 " WAWAN Team" owned & skippered by Oathman Khalil Abdulla Al Mansouri  followed by boat no. 55 Gulfar 1 led by Badar Nasser Ahmed Naser Al Shashi then the boat no. 3 Dubai Police GHQ led by Mohammed Issa Al Mansoori for the ninth place and on the tenth place the boat no. 77 Fujairah Police GHQ Skippered by Yousef Bin Ibad Al Shahi. 

Awarding Ceremony

Immediately after the race the awarding ceremony took place for the winners of the 24th Al Maktoum Cup Traditional Rowing Race - 30ft with joy and happiness for the first top three places to received the awards led by the presence of Mohammed Hareb , DIMC CEO accompanied by Lt. Col. Ali Abdullah Al-Naqbi, Head of the Maritime Rescue Department at the Ports Police Station And Hazeem Al Gemzi , the Race Director. 

DIMC Congratulated all the winners and participants of the event

Mohammed Hareb, CEO of the Dubai International Marine Club, congratulated the first three winners of the 24th Al Maktoum Cup Traditional Rowing Race - 30ft and all the participants. He said that everyone that join the event was a winner for making it a great one. 

He praised the great efforts of the club's strategic partners, who cooperated with the club in any circumstances that the event went thru after the postponement for one day due to the weather forecast and for the safety of all the participants.