Zilzal 87 Crowned as Champion of the 22ft Dhow Race

01 March 2020

The boat no. 87 "Zilzal" owned by Marwan Al Marzouqi and skippered by Eisa Sultan Al Marzouqi won the 22ft Dubai Traditional Dhow Sailing Race - Heat 2 organized by Dubai International Marine Club (DIMC) under the marine sports season 2019-2020.

The crew of the boat 87 succeeded in reaching the finish line ahead of all the participating boats , with a total number of 50 participants.  They are successful in getting the first place in the overall ranking and also for the youth category with the good effort of the sailors and crews. 

The race started from Daria Island to Bulgari Hotel & Resorts towards the finish line in Nessnass Beach wherein the awarding ceremony took place for the top three winners of each category. 

The second place goes to boat no. 81 Hasheem owned by Abdulla Ebrahim Abdulla Alhamdi and skippered by Ahmed Yousef Salim Alhamadi who went up against its rival boat no. 80 "Al Serb" owned by Al Hurr Rashid Khadim Al Muhairi and skippered by Rashid Ahmed Rashid Al Muhairi. 

And for the Junior category , the boat no. 21 "Toofan" won the first place which is owned by Ahmad Ismail Ahmad Al Marzouoqi and skippered by Zayed Sultan Al Dhaheri. While on the second place is boat no. 13 "Tawaq" owned by Musha'al Mohd. Ahmed Ma'ayouf. On the third place is the boat no. 79 "Al Fahad" owned by Jasim Mohd. Ahmed Ma'ayouf and skipper by Mohamed Jassim Mohamed Ma'ayouf.

The awarding ceremony took place in Nessnass Beach wherein the club hosted a marine sports carnival for threedays with Dubai Kitesurf Open and the 22ft Dubai Traditional Dhow Sailing Race. 

Present in the awarding is the DIMC CEO, Mohammed Harib accompanied by Hezaim Al Gemzi the Director of Sports Dept at DIMC and Lt. Col. Ali Abdullah Naqbi, Head of the Maritime Rescue Department at Dubai Police to handover the trophy to the top three winners such as for the youth : Zilzal (87) , Hasheem (81), Al Serb (80) and for the junior : Toofan (21) , Tawaq (13) , Al Fahad (79).


Youth :

1. Zilzal (87)

2. Hasheem (81)

3. Al Serb (80)

4. Dahes (18)

5. Mura'ab (31)


1. Toofan (21)

2. Tawaq (13)

3. Al Fahad (79)

4. Atlas (12)

5. Serab (24)